Skip to main content

Election of Directors and Annual General Meeting 2017

The Wilderness Society Ltd

From little things, big things grow.

Annual General Meeting 2017

The Wilderness Society Ltd 2017 Annual General Meeting was held on Thursday, 23 November, hosted in Sydney and joined by teleconference to sites around Australia. The Meeting received reports from our Board of Directors and results of the 2017 Election of Directors. 

Interested Members can read the Minutes of the Meeting, as confirmed by the meeting Facilitator here: The Wilderness Society Ltd 2017 Annual General Meeting Minutes

Further information

If you have any questions relating to our AGM processes, please email Jo Stephen and Christine Zangari at

All members can take pride in the achievements of The Wilderness Society over our 41-year history, and an important part of that success story has been the support of our Members.

To acknowledge our Members’ support and encourage their participation in the organisation, as a result of Constitutional changes in late 2015, The Wilderness Society Ltd Board of Directors were elected by direct ballot in a process leading up to the 2017 Annual General Meeting. The nomination and election process is designed to ensure broad geographic representation -- where elected Directors must come from at least four of the following six regions: Australian Capital Territory and New South Wales; Queensland; Northern Territory and South Australia; Tasmania; Victoria; and Western Australia. 

Results of the 2017 Election of Directors

One hundred and twenty six Members voted in the election of Directors for The Wilderness Society Ltd Board. The successful candidates were declared at the Annual General Meeting. Information on the four nominees—Simon McCallum, Sam Rando, Larissa Zimmerman and Peter Follett—can be found here. The voting report listing the voting results is here.

The two candidates elected to the Board were Larissa Zimmermann and Sam Rando.

Thanks to all the Members who participated in the election, and welcome Larissa and Sam!

Short biographies of all Directors can be found on our Governance page.

2017 Annual General Meetings were also held by each Wilderness Society Association

Click on the locations below to learn more.