News - 11 July 2019

Annual General Meeting 2019

The Wilderness Society Ltd Notice of 2019 Election of Directors and Annual General Meeting

Since 1976, with the support of our Members, The Wilderness Society has stood at the forefront of Australia’s most historic environmental victories. From the Franklin River, to Fraser Island, to Tasmania’s forests, to the Kimberley and numerous World Heritage Areas, we’re focused on bigger-picture outcomes. 

Our vision is for a future where a new National Environment Act gives the Federal Government greater powers and responsibilities to protect the environment, with a new independent National Environmental Protection Authority to act as a watchdog over the system. Members are a vital part of a broader movement making this happen. 

2019 Election of Directors

Each year Members participate in the election of our Board of Directors. The nomination and election process is designed to promote broad geographic representation and elected Directors must come from at least four of the following six regions: Australian Capital Territory and New South Wales; Queensland; Northern Territory and South Australia; Tasmania; Victoria; and Western Australia. 

In July, we called for nominations for the Election of Directors on The Wilderness Society’s Board. We were fortunate this year to have four eligible nominees for election to two positions, they were: Sam Rando (NT/SA), Carlos Schafer (Vic), Lisa Roberts (Vic) and Bob Graham (Tas).

Thank you to all our nominees for supporting this process.

With thanks to the 303 Members who participated, the results of the election are:

  •   195 votes, 32.8% - Sam Rando
  •   181 votes, 30.4% - Lisa Roberts
  •   157 votes, 26.4% - Bob Graham
  •   62 votes, 10.4% - Carlos Schafer

The result of the ballot is determined by the candidate who receives the highest number of ballots filling the first available position and the candidate with the next highest number of ballots filling the next available position, and so on.

Congratulations to Lisa Roberts and Sam Rando, elected in The Wilderness Society Ltd 2019 Election of Directors. Lisa and Sam join our continuing Elected Directors, Leanne Craze and Coral Robinson from NSW, Craig Zanker from Victoria, Stuart Baird from Tasmania, Amanda Branley from WA, and one appointed Director, Ben Holgate, on the Board.

The Wilderness Society Ltd 2019 Annual General Meeting

The Wilderness Society Annual General Meeting was held on Thursday, 28 November 2019. Minutes of the meeting, confirmed by the AGM Convenor are now available: TWS Ltd 2019 AGM Minutes 20191128 (no Members list)

Further information


Should you require additional information regarding this year’s Election of Directors or the AGM, please call our Supporter Care team on 1800 030 641.

Other meetings

Our Wilderness Society entities are also hosting their own AGMs. Click the links below to RSVP to a gathering near you! 

Wilderness Society Newcastle AGM

Wilderness Society (South Australia) Inc. AGM

Wilderness Society (Tasmania) Inc. AGM

Wilderness Society Victoria Inc. AGM

Wilderness Society WA AGM

Wilderness Society (Sydney) Inc AGM

We would like to take this opportunity to thank you for your support as a Member, and to encourage you to participate as a candidate as well as in our 2019 election process.